The Honorable Robin Vos Wisconsin State Assembly Room 217 West, State Capitol Madison, WI 53708

Dear Speaker Vos.

Year after year, Wisconsin election officials deliver accurate, secure, and accessible elections that give voice to the citizens of the state. Each of your Members was elected under that system. The success of Wisconsin's elections, even as the last two presidential elections were decided by nearly identical margins, is a credit to the work of all election officials in the state, but in particular, those that work in the Wisconsin Elections Commission (WEC). As you know, you championed the creation of the WEC, replacing the Government Accountability Board, and you and your fellow legislators dictated the exact structure and terms of the agency. And it has performed admirably.

Much of the success of Wisconsin's elections is due to the competence and excellence of the person who was chosen to lead the agency, Meagan Wolfe. Ms. Wolfe is one of the most highly-skilled election administrators in the country, respected widely by election officials in Wisconsin and throughout the nation. Wisconsin is lucky to have her, and it would be hard to identify many election officials with more expertise, dedication, and integrity than Ms. Wolfe, who achieves all this within the highest standards of nonpartisan fairness.

Nevertheless, it seems that some, unhappy with an election that has been upheld and verified by members of both parties, and judges appointed by both parties, for over a year, now seek to tarnish her good name in an attempt to bully her into resigning. If this is being done so that she can be replaced by someone more pliable to those pursuing partisan aims, it would contravene the very purpose of the WEC that you created.

We, the undersigned, represent election officials and experts, and others concerned about American democracy. We are both Democrats and Republicans, and come from both red and blue states. And we stand against politicization of the process that's being attempted in Wisconsin, and for the type of nonpartisan, expert administration you envisioned when you established the WEC.

Over the past year, attacks on professional election administrators throughout the nation have increased exponentially. These attacks have been directed at Democrats, Republicans, and nonpartisans, at Secretaries of State and volunteer poll workers, and at families and children. There have been threats on the lives of public servants and their families, and attacks on their livelihoods and professionalism. It saddens us greatly to see the State of Wisconsin become ground zero for this harassment.

We hope that you and your colleagues will speak out against this line of harassment and speak truth to all Wisconsin voters – that their interests are well-served by the current leadership of the WEC, and that they can be confident in the results, regardless of whether their candidate wins or loses. And no one is better situated to competently continue that tradition in Wisconsin than the WEC's current Election Administrator, Meagan Wolfe.

Yours truly,

Natalie Adona

Assistant Clerk-Recorder/Registrar of Voters, Nevada County, California

Bob Bauer

Co-Chair, Election Official Legal Defense Network, formerly White House Counsel, Obama Administration

David J. Becker

Executive Director and Founder, Center for Election Innovation & Research

Karen Brinson Bell

Executive Director, North Carolina State Board of Elections

Jonathan Brater

Director, Bureau of Elections, State of Michigan

Jacqueline Beaudry

City Clerk, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Barb Byrum

Clerk, Ingham County, Michigan

Brenda F. Cabrera

Director of Elections/General Registrar, City of Fairfax, Virginia

Judd Choate

Director of Elections, State of Colorado

Damon Circosta

Chair, North Carolina State Board of Elections

Brian Corley

Supervisor of Elections, Pasco County, Florida

Matt Crane

Exec. Dir., Colorado County Clerks Association, former Clerk, Arapahoe County, Colorado

Jared Dearing

Executive Director, State Board of Elections, Commonwealth of Kentucky

Ken Detzner

Former Florida Secretary of State

Mark S. Earley

Supervisor of Elections, Leon County, Florida

Monica Evans

Executive Director, District of Columbia Board of Elections

Molly Fitzpatrick

Clerk and Recorder, Boulder County, Colorado

Julie L. Flynn

Deputy Secretary of State, State of Maine

Ben Ginsberg

Co-Chair, Election Official Legal Defense Network, formerly counsel, George W. Bush and Mitt Romney for President

Joseph Paul Gloria

Registrar of Voters, Clark County, Nevada

Trey Grayson

Member, Frost Brown Todd LLC, former Kentucky Secretary of State

Chris Harvey

Former Elections Director, State of Georgia

Ricky Hatch

Clerk/Auditor, Weber County, Utah

Julietta Henry

Elections Director, Milwaukee County, Wisconsin

Neal Kelley

Registrar of Voters, Orange County, California

Joseph Kirk

Elections Supervisor, Bartow County, Georgia

Scott O. Konopasek

General Registrar/Director of Elections, Fairfax County, Virginia

Linda H. Lamone

Administrator of Elections, State of Maryland

Brianna Lennon

Clerk, Boone County, Missouri

Dean C. Logan

Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, Los Angeles County, California

Kori Lorick

Director of Elections, State of Arizona

David Maeda

Director of Elections and Deputy Secretary of State, State of Minnesota

Matthew V. Masterson

Non-Resident Fellow, Stanford Internet Observatory

Ed Packard

Administrator of Elections, State of Alabama

Christopher E. Piper

Commissioner, Virginia Department of Elections

Helen Purcell

Former Recorder, Maricopa County, Arizona

Susan N. Reed

Director of Elections and General Registrar, City of Manassas, Virginia

Rob Rock

Director of Elections, State of Rhode Island

Justin F. Roebuck

Clerk, Ottawa County, Michigan

Al Schmidt

Commissioner, City of Philadelphia

Kai G. Schon

Election Division Director, State of Wyoming Deborah Scroggin Director, Elections Division, State of Oregon

Will Senning

Elections Director, State of Vermont

David Stafford

Supervisor of Elections, Escambia County, Florida

Michelle K. Tassinari

General Counsel and Director, Elections Division, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Christopher M. Thomas

BPC Fellow, former Director, Bureau of Elections, State of Michigan

Mandy Vigil

Director of Elections, State of New Mexico

Wesley Wilcox

Supervisor of Elections, Marion County, Florida

Sally Williams

Former Director, Bureau of Elections, State of Michigan

Wayne Williams

Colorado Springs City Council, former Colorado Secretary of State

Michael Winn

Chief Deputy Clerk, Harris County, Texas

Chris Winters

Deputy Secretary of State, State of Vermont